Skip to content

small farmer education

December 23, 2010

yesterday I attended an orientation for ALBA’s small farmer education program. I’m excited about this resource that I recently rediscovered, thanks to California FarmLink. the course walks aspiring farmers like me through business planning, marketing, crop planning, soil management and pest management through classroom sessions, field demonstrations and trips over six months. farmers who complete the course are eligible to lease land at ALBA’s incubator farm to start their farm business.
I knew ALBA helped farmers get started but for some reason, maybe because I have worked in food education myself, it never occurred to me that I might be able to use their services. now that I’m embarking on the difficult task of starting my own farm, I’m very willing to seek out and accept all the help I can get. the course starts in january.

Leave a Reply

